Skip to content


The Top-Level Group convened by Lord Des Browne promotes a vision of a world free of nuclear weapons and tables practical and informed suggestions on how to move closer to that goal in a world of complex and interactive challenges. The members, former ministers and military commanders who have had direct responsibility for nuclear arsenals chart the steps towards multilateral disarmament and recommend important measures for strengthening the global non-proliferation regimes.


Des Browne

Chair of the ELN, Vice Chairman of the NTI, Convener of the TLG and former UK Defence Secretary

United Kingdom

David Ramsbotham

Retired General Army, Former Adjutant General, Former ADC General to HM the Queen

United Kingdom

David Hannay

Former Ambassador of the UK to the EEC, Former Ambassador of the UK to the UN

United Kingdom

Alistair Burt

Former Minister of State at the Department for International Development and Minister of State at Foreign and Commonwealth Office

United Kingdom

Shirley Williams

Former Leader of the Liberal Democrats in the House of Lords, Former Adviser on Nuclear Proliferation to the Prime Minister

United Kingdom

Tom King

Former Defence Secretary

United Kingdom

George Robertson

Former NATO Secretary General, Former Secretary of State for Defence

United Kingdom

John Kerr

Former British Ambassador to the United States and the EU

United Kingdom

Michael Ancram

Former Chairman of the Conservative Party

United Kingdom

David Owen

Former Foreign Secretary

United Kingdom

John Reid

Former Home Secretary, Former Defence Secretary, Former Health Secretary

United Kingdom

Alan West

First Sea Lord and Commander in Chief of the Royal Navy

United Kingdom